Perceptions are deceptive

26 Aug

People will tell you a lot about yourself. Sometimes things you never knew. Things you didn’t want to know. And every now and then, you’re surprised by how much they think they know about you. A knowledge that nobody can keep to himself, because, of course, one has to tell you who you are! How should you know!

Going back to my homecountry, many people felt the need to tell me something about myself. People I haven’t seen or talked to for more than one year. It’s nice to get a little help adjusting once again. 😉 Don’t get me wrong, it’s always good to get some feedback, and sometimes old friends that you haven’t met for a long time are the best ones to notice a change. However, during the last few days, I’ve just been amused by all the things people told me about myself.

First, there were comments about my look: “You’ve gained weight.” “You finally have some muscles” “You’re not all skin and bones anymore” “You look more female, it’s really nice.” “You’re still skinny, but in a healthy way… yes, you look more healthy now.” “You are the very picture of health… ” “Very becoming to you!” “Where did you get that tan?”

At the same time, people told me I’ve been losing weight. And the same person said that I look stronger and finally have some muscles changed his mind just three days later. “Hm, you’re muscles are already dwindling, aren’t they…” “You’re so pale…”

I learned that one person found me really arrogant and the very same day, someone else said “Why aren’t there more people with your character?” I’m difficult and easy going at the same time.

I find it very interesting what other people think about me. I listen, I nod. Then comes the most important part: Let it go. Don’t forget about that one. Because people will tell you all kind of things. Often, it will be contradicting. That’s what the last days and weeks taught me. I still find people’s opinions about myself interesting. I just don’t take them too serious anymore. I listen to them, I laugh, I keep on walking. I find their opinions interesting in the same way I find stereotypes interesting. They are quite entertaining! (I love stereotypes… sometimes, they are even true. Often they are not) Ok, by  the time when more than 10 people in a row tell me, I’m arrogant… I think it might be time for some serious self-reflection. But right now… let’s celebrate diversity of opinion!

One Response to “Perceptions are deceptive”

  1. Lizzy August 27, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Good for you!!! Never let anyone’s opinion get to you. It’s nice to hear the good stuff that you really want to hear. It can make your day. But some people just talk out the side of their mouth sometimes. Kinda makes you wanna slap them, doesn’t it?

    Have you ever read the book You Are Special by Max Lucado? It’s a storybook for children, but the message is timeless and for any age. Check it out. It’s about what you have written here today.

    Thank you for such a positive post. God bless.

Leave a Reply

